Detective Comics: Inspired By “Batman V Superman”

12899986_964573273663009_2137046468_nWhat is it about heroes that we want to put them together? Is it something in our psyche that groups certain kinds of people together? For years and years and years, comic book fans have been begging to see Batman and Superman fight it out in the movies. Drawing much inspiration from Frank Miller’s BATMAN: THE DARK KNIGHT RETURNS, we got that this weekend.

However, I have always wanted to see Batman and Sherlock Holmes team up. When Batman first appeared in comic books in 1939, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle had only been gone for nine years at this point.

And when he did appear it was in “Detective Comics # 27”.

I believe I have documented it someplace, that one of my earliest memories of me being 2 years-old and throwing a MEGO Batman figure up in the air in my house in Portsmouth, Virginia.

Batman, Zorro and Sherlock Holmes were just three of the heroes I was fascinated with. (SIDE NOTE: I will be discussing Zorro and Sherlock Holmes in a later post, when we discuss BEYOND WATSON from Belanger Books which is running a Kickstarter campaign).

Well, after having seen BATMAN V SUPERMAN: DAWN OF JUSTICE, I wanted to do a quick search and see what I could find when the World’s First Consulting Detective crossed paths with the Dark Knight Detective.

Enjoy!

NOTE: I have attempted to link back all entries to their sources as best I can. All credit goes to the creator of the said works.  

 

Photos: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 1112 , 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20

Batman 328 G.jpg

Batman 328 H.jpg

Leave a Reply

