How My Dad Reading to Me Got Me Into Sherlock Holmes…And Parents Should Read to their Kids, Too!

I have said in the past that I got into Sherlock Holmes because my father read me a copy of THE HOUND OF THE BASKERVILLES adapted for kids before bed when my brother and me were younger.

Here’s a picture of Dad and me:

11218996_790454647741540_1082396885248493586_nSo, I was curious to see if I could find the book, and guess what? I did! And then I did some searching on Amazon and I found a copy of it and got it in the mail today!

12077103_868641233256214_1599537251_n

Now this led me to think about how important it is for adult to read to kids. To quote one site on the subject, the “single most important activity for building …understandings and skills essential for reading success appears to be reading aloud to children.”

Photo Credit: Arlene Sahraie
Photo Credit: Arlene Sahraie

I wanted to get a more “closer to home” remark about this, so I reached out to my friend Arlene Sahraie, Library Services Director of the Bergen County Cooperative Library System (BCCLS).

I asked her, “Why is it important for parents to read to their kids?”

“What greater joy is there than snuggling up with your child and reading with them?” she said.

She said that “from board books for the tiniest babies to picture books and on up to novels, [and] it doesn’t cost a penny but the rewards are priceless. These are the times your children will remember.”

She echoed the other experts and said that, “Reading to kids expands their minds and their vocabularies. Children who are read to learn from an early age that books are important. Studies have shown that they’ll do better in school.” Arlene added that, “Reading helps [children] grow into informed, tolerant, empowered, open-minded adults. That is a great gift to give someone.”

But to go full circle, she spoke not as someone who works in the library system but as a parent.

“Speaking as a parent and a librarian, the most important thing for me has always been talking about the books we read whether at book clubs, story hours, or at home,” she said.

Furthermore, she explained, “Books take children to new worlds – Narnia, Where the Wild Things Are, Avonlea, Mr. McGregor’s Garden – and reading to your child helps them see the world in new and different ways; ways they might never have imagined without books.”

And starting with Sherlock Holmes is a great way to begin!

12077282_868641266589544_2125235856_n
WATSON: When should parents begin reading to their kids? HOLMES: When they are in elementary school, my dear Watson!
5 thoughts on “How My Dad Reading to Me Got Me Into Sherlock Holmes…And Parents Should Read to their Kids, Too!

  1. great post, don! i remember my parents reading to me a lot when i was younger. I know that’s what instilled my love of reading/writing. my dad would always take the time to read with me, even after a long day at work. i loved those times!…b

    Like

  2. Loved the post – I myself was introduced to Holmes first through The Hound of the Baskervilles. In my case, my grandfather introduced it to me (he didn’t read it to me – but he definitely did encourage me to read). Encouraging children to read is one of the best things a parent can do for his/her child.

    I also loved that witty quote at the end (the elementary school one!) 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

